Is One of Your Chakras Blocked?

Filed under Blog

If you’re feeling out of sorts, or things just don’t seem to be right, even though there is nothing really wrong, maybe you’ve wondered if one of your chakras is blocked? If you practice mindfulness or meditation you’re probably aware of chakras and that they represent the 7 energies in our bodies. If you aren’t familiar with this old Sanskrit word – Chakra – you might have laughed a little at the idea of this life force having the ability to spin your life out of control.

The idea of the Chakra comes from early Hinduism, Buddhism and Jainism. There are 5 – 7 chakras aligned along the spine, though they are also considered to be a mental or spiritual state of being as well. Each chakra represents an energy that when out of alignment or not in sync with the others can cause a disruption or illness in your life. For example if you’re having difficulty finding love, joy or inner peace, it might be because your Heart Chakra is out of sync. To get your heart chakra back in sync, or to heal it, you could try Bikram Yoga and open yourself up to more love around you.

If you’re feeling like things just aren’t right, it might be because one or more of your chakras is out of sync. Listed below are the 7 chakras, where they are located on your body, what they represent and how to heal them.

Root Chakra – Muladhara

Location: Base of the spine at the tailbone.

Represents: Money, food, finances, survival.

Color: Red

Healing: Practice the Bridge Pose in Yoga. Stomp your feet to try to be more grounded, eat red foods like apples, beets, peppers, animal protein.

Sacral Chakra – Svadhishana

Location: Just below the belly button.

Represents: Sex, creativity, sense of wellness and abundance.

Color: Orange

Healing: Ask yourself if what you are doing causes you happiness and is good for you. If it does not then don’t do the thing. Eating orange foods and nuts can be helpful.

Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura

Location: Upper abdomen or stomach area.

Represents: Self Esteem and Self Confidence

Color: Yellow

Healing: Stop trying to control things our of your control (which at times can be everything). Go with the flow – dance, sing, let go.

Heart Chakra – Anahata

Location: Center of chest above the heart.

Represents: Love, joy, peace.

Color: Green

Healing: Try Bikram Yoga (the one with the heat) it opens your pores so it literally opens you up to love. Simply love more and hate less.

Throat Chakra – Vishuddha

Location: Throat

Represents: Communication, feelings, truth, self expression.

Color: Blue

Healing: Think before speaking, don’t jump to conclusions. Ask yourself before speaking – is it true, is it kind, is it necessary?

Third Eye Chakra – Ajna

Location: Forehead between your eyes.

Represents: Intuition, wisdom, psychic energy.

Color: Indigo

Healing: If you feel overwhelmed, you can heal your third eye chakra by taking some time for yourself to recenter. Relax, take a walk, read a book, enjoy yourself, laugh.

Crown Chakra – Sahaswara

Location: Top of the head.

Represents: Pure consciousness. Difficult to attain, something we strive for as humans and if we attain it are no longer human.

Color – Violet

Healing: Since we are no longer human when we attain this Chakra, there really is no healing for it.


Facebook Twitter Google+ LinkeIn YouTube